Olymp Portal

Proggy-Buggy Contest Proggy-Buggy Contest Proggy-Buggy Contest

The Proggy-Buggy Contest is an international humorous programming competition that has been held annually since 2013. The contest objective is to solve a maximum of 13 different tasks in under 42 minutes each. The winning team is the one that solves the most tasks in the most effective way possible in the least amount of time.

Why is it humorous?

The tasks aren’t hard. But there are lots of them. Why 13? Because it’s 42! You don’t need out-of-this world programming knowledge, just general erudition and programming skills in any language. Some of the tasks given to be solved don’t even have a solution.

According to Douglas Adams's The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, the number 42 is the universal answer to all questions of the universe.

When and where?

Proggy-Buggy takes place in all cities where DataArt has development centers, namely Buenos Aires, Voronezh, Wroclaw, Dnipro, Kiev, London, Lviv, Lublin, Odessa, St. Petersburg, Sofia, Kharkov, and Kherson.

13.09.2019

Dnipro, 18:00

10 Pavla Nirinberga street Business Center, 2nd floor

Kharkiv, 18:00

7/8 Zashchitnikov Ukrainy Square.

Kherson, 18:00

6 Voyenniy Lane, 3rd floor

Kiev, 18:00

14E Bekhterevsky Ave. 3rd-5th floor

Lviv, 18:00

1 Smal-Stotsky St., 5th floor

Odessa, 18:00

1/20 Marazliyevskaya street Building D1, 5th floor

St. Petersburg, 18:00

60A Bolshoi Sampsonievski Ave.

Voronezh, 18:00

36 Stankevicha Street, Floor 4

Lublin, 17:00

ul. T. Zana 39a

Wrocław, 17:00

Plac Grunwaldzki 23, 50-365

Yerevan, 19:00

Dzorapi 70/3, Floor 7

Sofia, 18:00

bul. Todor Alexandrov 28

Buenos Aires, 12:00

Corrientes Ave. 880 14th Floor

New York, 11:00

475 Park Avenue South (between 31 & 32 streets) Floor 15

London, 16:00

55 King William Street, 7th floor

Riga, 18:00

Dzirnavu street 37-5B

How is the competition designed?

team

Team competition

Proggy-Buggy is a team event. There can be no more than three people per team. There were 120 teams in 2018.

laptop

One computer

Each team is allowed to use one computer with only the programs permitted for use in the tournament.

check

Automatic answer scoring

Team answers are scored automatically on the dedicated server olymp.dataart.com. Participants see what score they were given for their answers on the Internet in real time.

lang

Many languages

The solution code can be written in one of many languages, and a complete list is given on the server olymp.dataart.com.

The jury evaluates competitors based on the results of their automatically launched software solutions compiled on the server. The correctness and effectiveness of each team’s solutions (in terms of speed and memory usage) are taken into account.

Who can take part?

We invite developers, testers, back-office workers and passionate people with a knowledge of programming, console-based applications, and standard I/O streams to take part.

Registration is done at olymp.dataart.com. Registration is “free”: just provide your email, to which you’ll get a link that you can use to complete registration.

Who is the winner?

The team that solves the maximum number of tasks while having the lowest penalty will be the winner. The penalty is the “total time” used to solve a task, which for each task is determined in the following way: The total time is the sum of the time consumed for each problem solved. The time consumed for a solved problem is the time elapsed from the beginning of the contest to the submittal of the first accepted run plus 20 penalty minutes for every previously rejected run for that problem. There is no time consumed for a problem that is not solved (https://icpc.baylor.edu/regionals/rules). All participants’ solved tasks will be automatically scored on a single server so that the winner can be determined quickly.

Contest participants are divided into two leagues: professional Olympians, and amateurs. Awards will be given in each league in four different categories: team total, by country, by city, and best result among all DataArt teams.